Hello, welcome, come in…

This is my new website, and I have a New Website Resolution that I will maintain this blog regularly. I promise. So, go ahead, subscribe to it using either the RSS chiclet at the top (if you’re a feed-reader), or the email link on the right. This site will replace my website, blog, and forum: it’s all happening here! If you are waiting for a response to an email, I will get on to them very soon (part of the New Website Resolution). I look forward to spending some time with you over the coming years…

9 responses to “Hello, welcome, come in…

  1. Looking forward to following your blog, and keeping you to your promise of regular postings.

    Also, as an aside, I need you to release a new book for grown ups. You are by far my most favourite writer* and I need a ‘shot’ of Kim. Got some serious withdrawl happening here!

    * not lip service. Actual state of play.

  2. Hey, thanks a lot, Hen, that means a great deal to me to hear that. Having small children has made writing life a little difficult for various practical (ie. financial) and emotional (ie. always tired) reasons. I can promise you a small “hit” next year in an anthology tentatively titled “Legends of Australian Fantasy” in the form of a fantasy novella that I hope to flesh out into a book or two. At the moment, I’m just trying to catch my breath after a big year and two back-to-back Kimberley Freeman novels (they did so well I signed on to do 2 more…). But I need to get back to that place where the magic happens soon, I think.

  3. Hi.
    I only read two books of yours, but am now a fan.
    Bought the “The Resurrectionists” without knowing anything about you, but was immediately hooked. It’s now one of my top 10 books. I loved the mood and atmosphere of that story.

    I also liked “The Autumn Castle” and plan on reading more of your books.

    Best regards.

    Nuno Berneaud

  4. Hi Kim,

    Thanks for the update on the move and look forward to following along. Am booked in to experience your magic first hand in Feb 09, through QWC Year of the Edit. Am really looking forward to that. See you here. See you there…

    Warm regards,

    Lynn

  5. Hi Kim:

    Good job on the new site. Nice to look at, easy to get around and a welcome addition to my bookmarks.

    I do have one question though. Two web pages ago you had a separate info section for each of your spec fic books with some very interesting background notes. What happened to those and can we have them back please?

    I’m re-reading Angel of Ruin just now (my favourite book of yours and one of my favourite books full stop- the idea of an otherworldly muse gets me through many a slow writing day) and thinking about the maiden/mother/crone dynamic that develops whenever you have three main female characters in one story. At first I couldn’t decide who was who, but it soon became obvious. In reverse order, Deborah is the wisest and- certainly by the end of the book- the oldest, Mary is the most maternal because of the way she dotes on Max and Anne is something of a latecomer to womanhood who is able to accept and understand herself better after Lazodeus cures her stammer.

    No prizes for working that out, I just thought I’d report in to say that the penny finally dropped :). Keep up the good work and all the best to you and yours.

  6. very insightful, steve!

    i am slowly going to get some more interesting content up here, including podcasts of readings etc. willtake your suggestion under consideration. k

  7. I do wish you hadn’t started this as I need another Blog to become addicted to like a hole in the head. However, your new website is lovely, streamlined and covers all your writing. How impressive is your resume! I must tell you I am reading Gold Dust and really loving it. I’m very slow with reading as I have had so many years of research reading and I needed a break from the magical books. I think when you love a writer it doesn’t matter what genre they are writing in however – the power of story comes through.

Leave a Reply

