The Hobbit: You Want Chicks With That?

So I saw The Hobbit. The LOTR movies are my favouritest movies ever, so of course I was so happy to be back in Middle Earth and this isn’t a review of the movie. This is about the chicks.

Or lack thereof.

There were so many ways that Jackson could have worked some more women into the film, and that’s what I’m going to write about. Now, before you say, “but it was an adaptation of Tolkien and he was being faithful as all good adapters should be” let me just offer you a pre-emptive BULLSHIT, MATE. Adaptations do not have to be faithful to be good. They have to be good to be good. Case in point, what Jackson did with the structure of The Two Towers. The book is boring; the movie had pace, plenty of narrative interest, a clever interweaving of multiple threads.

This is what I reckon he could have done:

* Kili and Fili could have been female dwarves. Think about how RAD that would have been. Female dwarves are awesome! They’d not be all slender and holy-looking like Arwen and Galadriel; they’d be dirty and nuggety and rough as a bear’s arse. Massive missed opportunity.

Image

* Radagast could have been a woman. Birdshit hair-product and all. Imagine, a cool old forest witch character, a crone with a cackle and gnarled hands.

* Smaug could have been a female dragon. Like Onyxia in World of Warcraft (who my cat is named after). Female dragons are cool.

* The Goblin King could have been a Goblin Queen. Let’s face it, we were all thinking of David Bowie as the definitive screen goblin king anyway (“you remind me of the babe”); why not get Judi Dench to voice her and have her be a wormy piece of womanly nastiness instead?

Maybe I’m biased because these are my ideas (worked out in conversation with my terribly clever boyfriend), but I think if Jackson had done all of the above, The Hobbit would have kicked arse. It would have been a movie that truly thrilled me, and a great many other fantasy movie fans, on many levels.

 

 

12 responses to “The Hobbit: You Want Chicks With That?

  1. Acceptable only if the female dwarves had beards, Pratchett-style, or the female Radagast was played by Helena Bonham-Carter. I mean, there’s a slight resemblance in that picture anyway…

    • I totally agree – plus Tolkein did say in LOTR that female dwarves are had to distinguish from male dwarves… as they practically look the same!!

  2. OMG I’m so with you! I’ve pondered over this ever since I watched the movie. Why? Why? Why? It’s like a good portion of salt missing in an otherwise nice dish.

  3. You have a good point, however I disagree.
    Having read the LOTR and the Hobbit , and becoming attached to them the way I believe many other fans are, it would have caused quite an uproar changing two of the main characters genders.
    Surely Galadriel has enough gal power to appease your inner feminist, from my understanding she is actually going to tear down the necromancer’s tower with her all encompassing power- as outlined in one of Tolkien’s appendices.
    I do know what you mean though, for a movie in this day and age to have almost no women, it does make it seem lacking in many regards, though you should know that there will be another elven women introduced to the second movie called Tauriel, it’s hinted that there may be a relationship that will form between her and Kili ; I believe this non canon character is Jackson’s attempt at making the movie more awesome for women folk who may feel like the movie is lacking.
    Kindest regards Blayne.

    • It’s not about appeasing my inner feminist, Blayne. Women are half the population, so I’m afraid just one ain’t enough.

  4. I love some of your ideas for female characters in Tolkein movies, but unfortunately the law of celluloid means that they would all be scantily clad and buxom, which would be yet another feminist battle to be fought :(

Leave a Reply

