A new book. Argh, run screaming!

So. It hath happened. Wildflower Hill has hit the shelves. My bestie took this photo at the airport, so I have evidence. There’s always an awkward feeling of vulnerability when I have a book published (yes, even after 21 occasions). It’s almost impossible to explain but let me try. Imagine you are at the supermarket, and you look down and realise you are wearing only your underwear. People may be appreciative of you in your underwear, but nonetheless you feel exposed. Later, when you go home, you try not to think about it, but your mind returns to it again and again. What have people seen of you? What do they now know or presume about you, from that moment of exposure?

You may remember Wildflower Hill from such tortured posts as this and this and this. But now it is a real book in the world and real people will read it and they will have their opinions. Oh yes they will. Some of them will write and tell me their opinions, which is always nice if they like the book; but is a form of torture if they don’t (not because I can’t handle criticism, but because the accepted wisdom is that one does not write back snarly emails full of swears) (oh, and I lied: I also can’t handle criticism). Also, there is book promotion to do. This involves being interviewed and having my photograph taken. Do you like having your photograph taken? Yes, well, now imagine that the photographs are printed in public places before you even know whether or not they make you look like a half-witted yet slightly lascivious Amish milkmaid.

All of it makes me want to crawl under a rock and hide, but there is still that little part of me that hopes that people will read my book and like it, and like the people in it. Because for a little while, when I was writing it, they meant an awful lot to me.

Wildflower Hill

In 1920s Glasgow, Beattie Blaxland falls pregnant to her married lover Henry just before her nineteenth birthday. Abandoned by her family, Beattie and Henry set sail for a new life in Australia. But life is not about to follow the plan that Beattie had hoped for and fate will play her a cruel hand… In 2009, London, prima ballerina Emma Blaxland-Hunter is also discovering that life can also have its ups and downs. Unable to dance again after a fall, Emma returns home to Australia to recuperate. But on arrival she is presented with some surprising news – her recently deceased and much-loved grandmother Beattie Blaxland has left her Tasmanian property to Emma. Told through the eyes of a young Beattie Blaxland and a contemporary Emma Blaxland-Hunter, this is an emotionally charged, seductive tale of self-discovery, secrets and surprises.

“evocatively written” – Australian Women’s Weekly
“the reader is helpless to do anything but turn the page” – Bookseller & Publisher Magazine

14 responses to “A new book. Argh, run screaming!

  1. Congratulations, Kim! I’m sure it will be fantastic. Can’t wait to get my hands on it, but that might be a while as I live in the UK. Might have to get my sister to post me a copy.

  2. I just posted about this yesterday, save that I’m new to the publishing world and my novel doesn’t hit shelves till November. Still, I deeply appreciate your honesty and vulnerability in this post because so few authors want to admit that “being published” isn’t all highs, even when things go well. Thank you for sharing the emotional side of this in such a straightforward way. It’s what I needed to hear.

    Wouldn’t it be wonderful if, just for a moment, we could wind back time to when it seemed all glossy and wondrous and distant? I don’t mean for long, but for long enough. Maybe even just a single writing session.

  3. But this is not the book you were writing when you were in England researching, is it? Anyway, sounds good, I’ll read it as soon as possible🙂

  4. i think it takes boocoo courage to put your creative piece out there for others to praise, mock, ignore, whatnot. i can’t imagine that it’s ever easy, or that you’d ever not care about the reaction.
    here’s to 21.

    print out nasty email messages, shred them, feed to a worm farm.

  5. Hey Kim. Hope it does fabulously well for you. And it’s good to know that even when you reach the age of majority in publishing, you can still have some nervous nelly moments. Ta for being honest.
    Cheers, Nathan.

  6. You look right at home there with Carl Hiaason, Danielle Steel and Tess Gerritson. I’ll be grabbing this next time I’m at our independent bookseller (actually I’ll make a special trip there on Monday). Thanks for being so varied🙂
    Sean

  7. So excited you have a new book out! You are one of my favourite authors and even though I don’t buy many books (more a library user) I always buy yours as I read them over and over! Can’t wait to get it.
    PS – You always have the BEST endings🙂

Leave a Reply

