My brain is borken

I think I know why this book is taking so long to write. This morning, I spent half an hour rewriting one sentence. The finished sentence is: “The hard ache of missing Rowan had intensified, day by day, since they’d parted.” Not really worth the time investment, as I’m sure you’ll notice. But it started out life as: “She missed Rowan terribly since they’d been apart.” Now I don’t hate adverbs, but the one in that sentence (“terribly”) was propping up a weak-ish verb (“missed”), so I was casting about for a good verb that meant “missed terribly” and couldn’t find one. So I sat here with my eyes closed and imagined missing my own daughter (picture lady in dressing gown, eyes screwed tight, trying to imagine child isn’t in next bedroom). Then I got the idea of an ache, but not a soft sort of bruising or tender ache. Kind of like swallowing around a stone. So I did the whole “stone in her heart” thing but it seemed a bit overused (by me), so then I just put the words “hard ache” together and liked them. So had to rearrange the sentence.

Then I realised I needed to signal to the reader (who hasn’t been in this character’s viewpoint for a while) that the reason she’s missing Rowan so much is that some time has passed. At first I wrote “in the week since…” But again, it was too literal or something. So I tried “moment by moment”. God help me, I’ll admit it, I even tried “moment by agonising moment” but that seemed to go against what I was really trying to say, which was that it hurt but she was getting by. Also, talking in moments meant I could have been suggesting only a few hours had passed. So then I came up with “day by day” and I liked that. It indicates enough time passing, and it has a lovely rhythm and a stoked energy without the hysteria of “day after day”. Also, the parenthetical commas make it sit just outside the sentence, and emphasise the idea and the rhythm neatly.

So then I just had to organise the parts of the sentence so that they fit together without being too complex, because I don’t want the reader to stumble on the sentence. That is, for all the work I put into it, the sentence should really be invisible, imparting a brief impression perhaps, then disappearing behind the next sentence. Finally, I changed “been apart” to “parted”, just on the old advice that if the verb “to be” is anywhere in a sentence you should see if you can get rid of it. I’m still not sure on that, though. “Apart” is actually a more elegant word, so I might change it back when I have another spare half hour.

I must stress that I don’t do this with every sentence, but I do like to nail the emotional lives of my characters. I guess I could just keep writing, finish the damn book, and fix it in the edit; but sometimes if the sentence works okay (“She missed Rowan terribly since they’d been apart”) you might not notice it in the edit. There’s nothing wrong with that sentence; there’s nothing missing from it. But if I hadn’t spent the time on it, there’d be a tiny sliver of shininess lost from the story forever.

So, yeah, expect the book no time soon.

6 responses to “My brain is borken

  1. i love this post, Kim. It will stick in my brain. Something’s clicked. You should make this post your next WQ column article. Thanks for your wise words about artistry and craftskimship. Joanna :))

  2. I love your post too, Kim. It’s hard to write about this kind of stuff without sounding like a hopeless litwanker or procrastinator, but you manage it with all your usual style, insight, and honesty. The book is going to be well worth the wait, I’m sure.

    PS. Bork bork!

  3. “borken” is one of our favourite words around here. it indicates that something’s so broken, it even broke the word. or “bork” the word, if you prefer😉

  4. Hi Kim,

    Glad to hear someone as experienced as yourself gets so hung up on using ” moment by moment” or “day by day”! It’s sometimes a form of slow torture, this book writing lark, but as you said, when you nail that sentence… wow it feels good! Keep up the great work, can’t wait to see the finished product … eventually! Sam Wheeler

  5. Wow, what a great post. I have to confess I hate editing, and you have summed up exactly why. In the first draft ‘missed terribly’ is good enough, but once you start editing you can’t let those slip by. This is such a good description of what the process is like. Thanks for letting us know that we are not alone in our pain of editing!

Leave a Reply

