Solvitur Ambulando

Milton used to say this, apparently. You’d know that if you read my novel Angel of Ruin but hardly anyone did so I’m assuming you didn’t know that solvitur ambulando means “it is solved by walking”.
Walking is my exercise of choice. Not just for keeping fit, but because it seems to elevate my mood and make my brain work properly. I have a number of projects on the go here on my research trip, and sometimes while sitting here working on my netbook they become impossible. So I go walking.

Back home, my walk of choice is Mt Coot-tha, but here in York I’ve discovered a brilliant one-hour walk around the city’s medieval walls (see picture). There are stairs and slopes and uneven flagstones and places where there is no handrail, and whole sections of the wall are missing and I have to walk through suburbia (but that’s how I discovered Waitrose!), but it has been keeping my brain ticking over and I love love love it. I’ve finally finished the edit of “Garden of the Mad King” so I’ll send that to my agent when I get home and hope she can find a publisher; I’ve written the first quarter of the novella “The Year of Ancient Ghosts”; I’ve done all the reading and written an abstract for a symposium paper on medievalist internet memes; and I’m writing a paper on medievalism, gender, and World of Warcraft that is coming out in a collection with Routledge next year. I just know that, if i wasn’t walking for an hour every day, I’d just sit here on the couch all day, mouth breathing, playing Bejewelled on Facebook, and the circle of self-loathing would start.

Solvitur ambulando: my prescription for increased cognitive and creative productivity. Trust me: I’m a doctor.

7 responses to “Solvitur Ambulando

  1. I loved Angel or Ruin. And yes, the York walls are just the best. Derry is completely walled, something that is just not heard of. But Derry is not a nice place. It would be like having a beautiful wall around Inala.

  2. Walking is definitely the best activity of choice. It seems to clear my head. Though I tend to do it on a treadmill more than outdoors when I do it for the sake of it, especially if it’s for exercise. The walk in York looks amazing❤🙂

  3. I adored ‘Angel of Ruin” and yes agree with you totally. I love, love, love my morning walks by the sea. I have to walk first thing though otherwise I end up stuffing around on facebook or emails or reading blogs until the self loathing sets in – but if I walk first thing – it sets me up for the day and there’s nothing better for me than walking and then meditating by the ocean and writing something in longhand before heading back home to face the day.

    Your walks in York sound pretty special ♥ and yes, I probably should trust you coz you are indeed a doctor🙂

  4. AOR sits proudly on my bookshelf! It’s also been read by most of my friends & family (along with most of your books).😀 The walk sounds lovely.

  5. Posts like this just make me love you even more! You’ve inspired me to get off my arse and go walking … xxxxx

    PS So enjoying reading your updates about this trip. xxx

  6. Angel of Ruin was my first of your books and it made me fall in love at first sight! Yes to walking and daily exercies. Move the body; free the mind! The research you’re doing sounds wonderful. Thank you for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

