So, it’s been a while…

Surrealistic-Paintings-Salvador-Dali-Spain-06 I know, I know. I should have written before now. I got sick at the start of the year and have been playing catch-up ever since.

Rest assured that I’ve been busy. The big news is that the book formerly known as Garden of the Mad King is going to be published in November! At laaaaaaaaaaast! The new title the publishers have chosen is “Daughters of the Storm”. They’ve signed me up for a series, so YAY. I hope to have an extract and a cover to show you soon.

In order to make sure I keep the blog up-to-date, I’m introducing a new thing, which is every Friday around lunchtime I’m going to release a quick writing tip.

If you haven’t already, please sign up for my Facebook author page. There will be news and giveaways and other nonsense there regularly.

And finally, I gave a TEDx talk in March, and you can watch it below: It’s about being creative amid distractions. Don’t get too distracted now:

 

6 responses to “So, it’s been a while…

  1. Brilliant TED talk – so true. Now, how to choose the lonely farmhouse inside over the glittery enticement of the facebook page…🙂

  2. Great talk Kim. I love Dani Shapiro’s quote ‘the internet is like crack cocaine for writers’. I don’t have access to the internet in my garden writing shed and I notice the difference in productivity when I’m out there. It’s so hard to receive the images you need if you’re overstimulating yourself constantly. I never look at the little screen on public transport because I want to allow space for the ideas to creep in and I know they won’t if I’m distracted. xx

    • they are great habits to be in, josephine. i have a program called Freedom that locks me out of the internet when I need to get writing done. I outsource my willpower😉

  3. Sorry, but I have to show off how I learned about Kubla Khan far too many years ago.

    Great to see you’re back in action, to read about the new book and to hear your voice on a subject close to my black old heart.

  4. Excited to hear that the book is due out! Think I preferred the Garden of the Mad King as a title though, but hey ho … looking forward to reading it!

Leave a Reply

